UCLA JOINT SEMINARS IN NEUROSCIENCE

For a list of past Joint Seminars visit here.

To view some of our past Joint Seminars, please visit us on YouTube.

FALL QUARTER 2018
Unless noted otherwise, the seminars will be held 12:00pm,
in the Neuroscience Research Building Auditorium.

 October 2, 2018

CRISTINA ALBERINI, Ph.D. (Hosted by Pamela Kennedy; pkennedy@psych.ucla.edu)

Center for Neural Science, New York University, New York, New York

“Infantile Amnesia: A Critical Period for Learning and Memory Development”

October 9, 2018
 

The 2018 Integrative Center for Learning and Memory Distinguished Lecture

GYÖRGY BUZSÁKI, M.D. Ph.D. (Hosted by Alcino Silva and ICLM; silvaa@mednet.ucla.edu )

Departments of Neuroscience and Physiology and Neurology, New York University, New York, New York

“Space, Time and Hippocampal Computation”

October 16, 2018

DEANNA BARCH, Ph.D. (Hosted by Jennifer Silvers; silvers@ucla.edu)

Department of Psychological & Brain Sciences, Psychiatry and Radiology, Washington University in St. Louis, St. Louis, Missouri

“Connectomics, Cognition, and Psychosis”

October 23, 2018

**NRB Auditorium at 4:00pm

The Arnold Scheibel Distinguished Postdoctoral Fellow in Neuroscience Lecture

LIMING TAN, Ph.D. (Hosted by Felix Schweizer; felixs@ucla.edu)

Laboratory of Dr. Larry Zipursky, Department of Biological Chemistry, University of California, Los Angeles; HHMI

“Exploration of Molecular Mechanisms underlying Neural Circuit Assembly"

October 30, 2018

JAVIER MEDINA, Ph.D. (Hosted by Paul Mathews; pmathews@ucla.edu)

Department of Neuroscience, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas

“Title to be Determined”

November 6, 2018

NO JSN LECTURE – SFN Meeting in San Diego, CA

November 8, 2018

The Annual Molecular Biology Institute and Brain Research Institute Joint Lecture

STEVEN MCKNIGHT, Ph.D. (Hosted by David Eisenberg and Ben Novitch; david@mbi.ucla.edu; bnovitch@mednet.ucla.edu)

Department of Biochemistry, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, Texas

“Title to be Determined”

November 13, 2018 

MARK HARNETT, Ph.D. (Hosted by Peyman Golshani; pgolshani@mednet.ucla.edu)

Department of Brain & Cognitive Sciences, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts

“Title to be Determined”

November 20, 2018

NO JSN LECTURE – Thanksgiving Holidays

November 27, 2018

**Ackerman Union Grand Ballroom at 4:00pm

The Brain Research Institute 30th Annual Neuroscience Poster Session Distinguished Lecture

ERICH JARVIS, Ph.D. (Hosted by Stephanie White and Gina Poe; sawhite@ucla.edu; ginapoe@ucla.edu)  

Laboratory of Neurogenetics of Language, The Rockefeller University; HHMI, New York, New York

“Title to be Determined”

December 4, 2018

NA JI, Ph.D. (Hosted by Carlos Portera-Cailliau; cpcailliau@mednet.ucla.edu)

Departments of Molecular & Cell Biology and Physics, University of California, Berkeley

“Title to be Determined”

December 18, 2018

OLIVER HOBERT, Ph.D. (Hosted by Larry Zipursky; lzipursky@mednet.ucla.edu)

Department of Biological Sciences, Columbia University; HHMI, New York, New York

“Homeobox Genes Build the C.elegans Nervous System”

If you would like to meet with a speaker, please contact the host listed above.