UCLA JOINT SEMINARS IN NEUROSCIENCE

For a list of past Joint Seminars visit here.

To view some of our past Joint Seminars, please visit us on YouTube.

WINTER QUARTER 2017
Unless noted otherwise, the seminars will be held 12:00pm,
in the Neuroscience Research Building Auditorium.

January 17, 2017


JESSICA CARDIN, Ph.D. (Hosted by Carlos Portera-Cailliau; cpcailliau@mednet.ucla.edu)
Department of Neuroscience
Yale School of Medicine, New Haven, Connecticut

“Cortical Function and Dysfunction: A Role for Dendrite-Targeting Interneurons in Cortical Development and Disease"

January 24, 2017

MARLENE COHEN, Ph.D. (Hosted by Michelle Basso; mbasso@mednet.ucla.edu)
Department of Neuroscience
University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

“Multineuron Approaches to Studying Attention"

January 31, 2017

VIVIAN BUDNIK, Ph.D. (Hosted by Kelsey Martin; kcmartin@mednet.ucla.edu)
Department of Neurobiology
University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester, Massachusetts

"The Secret Life of a Plasticity Gene"

February 7, 2017

SARAH-JAYNE BLAKEMORE, Ph.D. (Hosted by Andrew Fuligni and Adriana Galvan; afuligni@ucla.edu; agalvan@psych.ucla.edu)
Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience
University College London, London, United Kingdom

"Sensitive Periods of Brain Development in Adolescence"

February 14, 2017

MELISSA ROLLS, Ph.D. (Hosted by Alvara Sagasti; sagasti@mcdb.ucla.edu)
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania

"Flies, Fluorescence and Microtubules Tell the Inside Story of Healthy and Injured Neurons"

February 21, 2017

MARSHALL SHULER, Ph.D. (Hosted by Helen Motanis; hmotanis@mednet.ucla.edu)
Department of Neuroscience
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, Baltimore, Maryland

"The Neural Genesis of Reward Timing and a Theory of Intertemporal Decision Making"

February 28, 2017

DIANA BAUTISTA, Ph.D. (Hosted by Alvara Sagasti; sagasti@mcdb.ucla.edu)
Department of Molecular and Cell Biology
University of California, Berkeley, California

"Neural Control of Itch and Inflammation"

March 7, 2017

The Brain Research Institute New Member Introduction Lecture (Hosted by Chris Evans; cevans@g.ucla.edu)

WENDY WALWYN, Ph.D.
UCLA Department of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences

"Preclinical Studies Yield Valuable Insight into Prescription Opioid Misuse"

FABIEN SCALZO, Ph.D.
UCLA Department of Neurology

"Mapping of MRI Patterns of Infarct Evolution to Tailor Therapy"

March 14, 2017

DAVID LEOPOLD, Ph.D. (Hosted by James Bisley; jbisley@mednet.ucla.edu)
Cognitive Neurophysiology and Imaging, Laboratory of Neuropsychology
National Institute of Mental Health, Bethesda, Maryland

"Naturalistic Approaches to Understand High-Level Visual Specialization in the Brain"

If you would like to meet with a speaker, please contact the host listed above.