Academic Year 2017-2018

January 9, 2018

DEBRA SILVER, Ph.D. (Hosted by Ben Novitch; bnovitch@g.ucla.edu)
Departments of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology, Neurobiology and Cell Biology, Duke University School of Medicine, Durham, North Carolina

“Dynamic Post-Transcriptional Control of Cortical Development and Disease”


January 16, 2018

WENBIAO GAN, Ph.D. (Hosted by Carlos Portera-Cailliau; cpcailliau@mednet.ucla.edu)
Molecular Neurobiology Program, Skirball Institute, and Department of Neuroscience and Physiology, New York University School of Medicine, New York, New York

“Learning and Sleep-Dependent Dendritic Spine Plasticity and Maintenance”


January 23, 2018

THOMAS A. BLANPIED, Ph.D (Hosted by Felix Schweizer; felixs@ucla.edu)
Department of Physiology, University of Maryland School of Medicine, Baltimore, Maryland

“Control of Nanostructure and Alignment in Single Synapses”


January 30, 2018

CATHERINE COLLINS, Ph.D. (Hosted by Ming Guo; MGuo@mednet.ucla.edu)
Department of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan

“Conserved Mechanisms Linking Axonal Damage Signaling, Axonal Transport, and Synapse Loss”


February 6, 2018

ROBERT FROEMKE, Ph.D. (Hosted by Peyman Golshani and Nicholas Hardy; PGolshani@mednet.ucla.edu; nhardy01@ucla.edu)
Departments of Otolaryngology, Neuroscience & Physiology, Skirball and Neurosciences Institutes, New York University School of Medicine; HHMI Faculty Scholar, New York, New York

“Oxytocin, Maternal Behavior, and Synaptic Plasticity”


February 13, 2018

PAUL FUCHS, Ph.D. (Hosted by Peter Narins; pnarins@ucla.edu)
Department of Otolaryngology, The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, Maryland

“Functional Diversity among Cochlear Afferents”


February 20, 2018

BITA MOGHADDAM, Ph.D. (Hosted by Pamela Kennedy; pkennedy@psych.ucla.edu)
Department of Behavioral Neuroscience, Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, Oregon

“Translation of Anxiety into Actions by Prefrontal Cortex Neurons”


February 27, 2018

MATTHEW RUSHWORTH, Ph.D. (Hosted by Hakwan Lau; hakwan@gmail.com)
Department of Experimental Psychology and Wellcome Centre for Integrative Neuroimaging (WIN), University of Oxford, United Kingdom

“The Anterior Cingulate Cortex in Learning and Changing Behaviour”


March 6, 2018

ELISABETH MURRAY, Ph.D. (Hosted by Alicia Izquierdo; aizquie@psych.ucla.edu)
Laboratory of Neuropsychology, National Institute of Mental Health, National Institutes of Health

“Specializations for Decision Making in Primate Prefrontal Cortex”


March 13, 2018

The Brain Research Institute Twenty-Sixth Annual Samuel Eiduson Student Lecture

CELINE VUONG (Hosted by Felix Schweizer; felixs@ucla.edu)
Laboratory of Dr. Douglas Black, Department of Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics, University of California, Los Angeles

"Rbfox1 Regulates Inhibitory Synaptic Transmission through the v-SNARE Vamp1"


April 3, 2018

Charles H. (Tom) Sawyer Distinguished Lecture

ALLAN E. HERBISON, Ph.D. (Hosted by Paul Micevych and LNE; pmicevych@mednet.ucla.edu)
Centre for Neuroendocrinology, University of Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand

“Generating Episodic Activity in the Neuroendocrine Hypothalamus for Fertility”


April 10, 2018

SCOTT RUSSO, Ph.D. (Hosted by Pingping Zhao and Carrie Bearden; ppzhaoion@gmail.com; CBearden@mednet.ucla.edu)

Center for Affective Neuroscience, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York, New York

“Motivational Circuitry of Aggression”


April 17, 2018

KENNETH KOSIK, M.D (Hosted by S. Thomas Carmichael; SCarmichael@mednet.ucla.edu)

Department of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology, University of California, Santa Barbara

“The Earliest Decisions in Neural Development”


April 24, 2018

TOMÁS J. RYAN, Ph.D. (Hosted by David Glanzman; glanzman@ucla.edu)

Trinity College Institute of Neuroscience, Dublin, Ireland

“Information Storage in Memory Engrams”


May 1, 2018

ELLEN LUMPKIN, Ph.D. (Hosted by Stephanie White; sawhite@ucla.edu)

Departments of Physiology and Cellular Biophysics & Dermatology, Columbia University, New York, New York

“Mechanisms of Neurotransmission in Mammalian Touch Receptors”


May 8, 2018

A. DAVID REDISH, Ph.D. (Hosted by H. Tad Blair; blair@psych.ucla.edu)

Department of Neuroscience, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota

“The Neurophysiology of Decision-Making: Information Processing in Mice, Rats, and Humans”


May 14, 2018

The Brain Research Institute Twenty-Ninth Annual H.W. Magoun Lecture

DAVID S. EISENBERG, D. Phil. (Hosted by Felix Schweizer; felixs@ucla.edu)
Departments of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Biological Chemistry, University of California, Los Angeles

“The Amyloid State of Proteins: Reversible Functional Amyloid vs. Irreversible Pathogenic Amyloid”


May 22, 2018

BRADLEY SCHLAGGAR, M.D., Ph.D. (Hosted by Jesse Rissman; rissman@psych.ucla.edu)

Departments of Neurology, Radiology, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, and Neuroscience, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Missouri

“Leveraging Neuroimaging Data and Systems Neuroscience for Prediction in Children with Tourette Syndrome”


May 29, 2018

The Annual Brain Research Institute and Molecular Biology Institute Joint Lecture

ANGELIQUE BORDEY, Ph.D. (Hosted by Ye Zhang; yezhang@ucla.edu)
Departments of Neurosurgery, and Cellular & Molecular Physiology, Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, Connecticut

“Understanding How mTOR Hyperactivity Leads to Epilepsy and Behavioral Deficits”


June 5, 2018

The New Brain Research Institute Member Introductions Lecture (Hosted by Felix Schweizer; felixs@ucla.edu)

MICHAEL GANDEL, M.D., Ph.D.
Department of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences

CAROLYN PARKINSON, Ph.D.
Department of Psychology

GINA POE, Ph.D.
Department of Integrative Biology & Physiology and Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences

ANGELIQUE BORDEY, Ph.D.
Department of Ophthalmology