Academic Year 2019-2020

October 1, 2019

ERIN S. CALIPARI, Ph.D. (Hosted by Amie Severino; amieseverino@g.ucla.edu)
Departments of Pharmacology, Molecular Physiology & Biophysics, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Vanderbilt Center for Addiction Research, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

“A Novel Framework for Diametric Value Encoding in the Nucleus Accumbens”

 

October 8, 2019

EMILY LIMAN, Ph.D. (Hosted by Stephen Cannon; sccannon@mednet.ucla.edu )
Department of Biological Sciences, University of Southern California

“Otop1 Proton Channels: Sour Taste and So Much More”

 

October 15, 2019

ADAM KEPECS, Ph.D. (Hosted by Alicia Izquierdo; aizquie@psych.ucla.edu)
Department of Neurobiology, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

Neurobiology of Confidence: Statistics, Neurons and Psychiatry

 

October 29, 2019

DANIEL DOMBECK, Ph.D. (Hosted by H. Tad Blair; blair@psych.ucla.edu)
Department of Neurobiology, Northwestern University

Unlocking the Secrets of the Brain’s Spatial Memory System Using Functional Imaging and Virtual Reality for Mice

 

November 5, 2019

The Arnold Scheibel Distinguished Postdoctoral Fellow in Neuroscience Lecture

ARASH BELLAFARD, Ph.D. (Hosted by Felix Schweizer; felixs@ucla.edu)

Sequential and Distributed Maintenance of Information in Working Memory

 

November 12, 2019

The Brain Research Institute 31st Annual Neuroscience Poster Session Distinguished Lecture

EVE MARDER, Ph.D. (Hosted by Jack Feldman; feldman@g.ucla.edu)
Department of Life Sciences, Brandeis University

Differential Resilience to Perturbation of Circuits With Similar Performance

 

December 3, 2019

THORSTEN KAHNT, Ph.D. (Hosted by Melissa Sharpe; melissa.j.sharpe@psych.ucla.edu)
Department of Neurology, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Contributions of the Human Orbitofrontal Cortex to Outcome-Guided Behavior

 

January 7, 2020

HELEN S MAYBERG, M.D. (Hosted by Nanthia Suthana; nsuthana@mednet.ucla.edu)
Departments of Neurosurgery, Neurology, Neuroscience and Psychiatry, Mount Sinai

“Cancelled”

 

January 14, 2020

DAVID HOLTZMAN, M.D. (Hosted by William Yang; xwyang@mednet.ucla.edu )
Department of Neurology, Washington University, St. Louis

APOE,TREM2, and Microglia Pathogenesis Tau Mediated Neurodegeneration

 

January 21, 2020

HONGKUI, ZENG, Ph.D. (Hosted by Carlos Portera-Cailliau; cpcailliau@mednet.ucla.edu)
Executive Director, Structured Science Division, Allen Institute

Cell Type Classification and Circuit Mapping in the Mouse Brain

 

January 28, 2020

ELIZABETH PHELPS, Ph.D. (Hosted by Jennifer Silvers; silvers@ucla.edu)
Departments of Neuroscience, Psychology, Harvard University

Cancelled

 

February 4, 2020

The Integrative Center for Learning and Memory Distinguished Lecture

LAURA COLGIN, Ph.D. (Hosted by Mayank Mehta and ICLM; mayank@physics.ucla.edu)
Department of Neuroscience, University of Texas, Austin

Hippocampal Place Cell Sequence and Memory Performance

 

February 11, 2020

XIAO-JING WANG, Ph.D. (Hosted by Dean Buonomano; dbuono@ucla.edu)
Department of Neural Science, New York University

Distributed Dynamics and Cognition in Large-Scale Brain Circuits

 

February 18, 2020

DEAN MOBBS, Ph.D. (Hosted by Avishek Adhikari; avi@psych.ucla.edu)
Department of Cognitive Neuroscience, California Institute of Technology

Space, Time and Fear: Survival Decisions along Defensive Circuits

 

February 25, 2020

MALA MURTHY, Ph.D. (Hosted by Jeff Donlea; jdonlea@mednet.ucla.edu)
Department of Neuroscience, Princeton University

Neural and Behavioral Dynamics of a Social Interaction

 

March 3, 2020

ARTURO ALVAREZ-BUYLLA, Ph.D. (Hosted by Ben Novitch; bnovitch@ucla.edu)
Department of Neurological Surgery, University of California, San Francisco

“Born Far From Each Other, But Destined to be Together: How Does the Cerebral Cortex Adjusts the Numbers of Inhibitory Cell”

 

Date to be Determined

The Brain Research Institute 31st Annual H.W. Magoun Lecture

TBD (Hosted by Felix Schweizer; felixs@ucla.edu)

“Title to Be Determined"

 

March 31, 2020

DANIEL SALZMAN, M.D., Ph.D. (Hosted by Michele Basso; mbasso@mednet.ucla.edu)
Departments of Psychiatry, Neuroscience, Columbia University

“Title to be Determined”

 

April 7, 2020

Sawyer Distinguished Lecture

LARRY YOUNG, Ph.D. (Hosted by Paul Micevych and LNE; pmicevych@mednet.ucla.edu )
Department of Psychiatry, Emory University

“The Neurobilogy of Social Bonding, Empathy and Social Loss: Implications for Autism”

 

April 14, 2020

The Annual Brain Research Institute and Molecular Biology Institute Joint Lecture

LIQUN LUO, Ph.D. (Hosted by Weizhe Hong and Akin Orkun; whong@ucla.edu)
Department of Biology, Stanford University

“Molecular Mechanisms of Neural Circuit Assembly”

 

April 21, 2020

CAGLA EROGLU, Ph.D. (Hosted by Samantha Butler; butlersj@ucla.edu)
Departments of Cell Biology and Neurobiology, Duke University

“CANCELLED”

 

April 28, 2020

The Integrative Center for Learning and Memory Distinguished Lecture

ERIC KLANN, Ph.D. (Hosted by Alcino Silva; silvaa@mednet.ucla.edu)
Departments of Neuroscience, Molecular Physiology & Biophysics, New York University

“Local and Cell Type-specific Translation in Emotional Memory”

 

May 5, 2020

LILA DAVACHI, Ph.D. (Hosted by Barbara Knowlton; knowlton@psych.ucla.edu)
Department of Psychology, Columbia University

“Title to be Determined”

 

May 12, 2020

TAMAS HORVATH, DVM, Ph.D. (Hosted by Jonathan Flint; jflint@mednet.ucla.edu)
Departments of Comparative Medicine, Neuroscience, Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Reproductive Sciences, Yale School of Medicine

“Hunger Promoting Hypothalamic Neurons Drive Healthy Ageing”

 

May 19, 2020

The Brain Research Institute 28th Annual Samuel Eiduson Student Lecture

TBD (Hosted by Felix Schweizer; felixs@ucla.edu)

“Title to be Determined”

 

May 26, 2020

MELISSA WARDEN, Ph.D. (Hosted by Avishek Adhikari; avi@psych.ucla.edu)
Departments of Neurobiology and Behavior, Cornell University

“Title to be Determined”

 

June 2, 2020

New Brain Research Institute Member Short Talks

TBD (Hosted by Felix Schweizer; felixs@ucla.edu)

“Title to be Determined”