Academic Year 2020-2021

October 6, 2020

Zoom Seminar Registration

TAKAKI KOMIYAMA, Ph.D. (Hosted by Peyman Golshani; pgolshani@mednet.ucla.edu)
Departments of Neuroscience, University of California San Diego

Principles of Circuit Plasticity During Learning

 

October 20, 2020

Zoom Seminar Registration

The Brain Research Institute 28th Annual Samuel Eiduson Student Lecture

LYLE KINGSBURY (Hosted by Felix Schweizer; felixs@ucla.edu)
Departments of Biological Chemistry and Neurobiology, University of California Los Angeles

The Social Brain in Action: Neural Dynamics Within and Across Interacting Animals

 

October 27, 2020

Zoom Seminar Registration

WIELAND HUTTNER, Ph.D. (Hosted by Ye Zhang; yezhang@ucla.edu)
Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics

Neural Stem Cell, Human-Specific Genes, and Neocortex Expansion in Development and Human Evolution

 

November 3, 2020

Zoom Seminar Registration

The Arnold Scheibel Distinguished Postdoctoral Fellow in Neuroscience Lecture(Hosted by Felix Schweizer; felixs@ucla.edu)

ASTRA BRYANT, Ph.D.
Departments of Microbiology, Immunology, and Molecular Genetics

Neural Mechanisms Underlying Temperature-Driven Host Seeking by a Skin-Penetrating Human-Parasitic Nematode

  JIANNIS TAXISDIS, Ph.D.
Departments of Neurology and Psychiatrys

Remembering What Happened When: Emergence and Stability of Context-Specific Hippocampal Sequences Encoding Odors and Time

 

November 10, 2020

Zoom Seminar Registration

Charles H. (Tom) Sawyer Distinguished Lecture

LARRY YOUNG, Ph.D. (Hosted by Paul Micevych and LNE; pmicevych@mednet.ucla.edu )
Department of Psychiatry, Emory University

The Neurobiology of Social Bonding, Empathy and Social Loss: Implications for Autism

 

November 17, 2020

Zoom Seminar Registration

ELIZABETH PHELPS, Ph.D. (Hosted by Jennifer Silvers; silvers@ucla.edu)
Department of Psychology, Harvard University

Mechanisms of Threat Control

 

December 1, 2020

Zoom Seminar Registration

MELISSA WARDEN, Ph.D. (Hosted by Avishek Adhikari; avi@psych.ucla.edu)
Departments of Neurobiology and Behavior, Cornell University

Neuromodulation and The Balance Between Goal-Directed and Reactive Behavior

 

December 8, 2020

Zoom Seminar Registration

TAMAS HORVATH, DVM, Ph.D. (Hosted by Jonathan Flint; jflint@mednet.ucla.edu)
Departments of Comparative Medicine, Neuroscience, Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Reproductive Sciences, Yale School of Medicine

Hunger Promoting Hypothalamic Neurons Drive Healthy Ageing

   

January 5, 2021

DAMIEN FAIR, Ph.D. (Hosted by Carrie Bearden; cbearden@mednet.ucla.edu)
Department of Pediatrics, University of Minnesota

“Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience in the Era of Big Data”

 

January 12, 2021

MICAHEL BRECHT, Ph.D. (Hosted by Stephanie White; sawhite@ucla.edu)
Department of Neurobiology, Bernstein Center for Computational Neuroscience Berlin

“Blood is Thicker Than Water”

 

January 19, 2021

CAGLA EROGLU, Ph.D. (Hosted by Samantha Butler; butlersj@ucla.edu)
Departments of Cell Biology and Neurobiology, Duke University

“How do Astrocytes Sculpt Synaptic Circuits?”

 

January 26, 2021

ICLM Distinguished Lecturer

ILANA WITTEN, Ph.D. (Hosted by Kate Wassum/Michele Basso, and ICLM; kwassum@ucla.edu)
Departments of Psychology and Neuroscience, Princeton University

“Title to be Determined”

 

February 2, 2021

ANDRE FENTON, Ph.D. (Hosted by Carlos Portera-Cailliau; CPCailliau@mednet.ucla.edu)
Department of Neuroscience, New York University

“Memory, Learning to Learn, and Control of Cognitive Representations”

 

February 9, 2021

The Eleanor Leslie Term Chair in Pioneering Brain Research

SAMANTHA BUTLER, Ph.D. (Hosted by Felix Schweizer; felixs@ucla.edu)
Department of Neurobiology, University of California Los Angeles

“Molecular Pathways That Accelerate the Regeneration of Axons Following Nerve Injury”

 

February 16, 2021

SHERNAZ BAMJI, Ph.D. (Hosted by Samantha Butler; butlersj@ucla.edu)
Department of Cellular Physiological Science, The University of British Columbia

“Title to be Determined”

 

February 23, 2021

COREY HARWELL, Ph.D. (Hosted by Ben Novitch; bnovitch@ucla.edu)
Department of Neurobiology, Harvard Medical School

“Title to be Determined”

 

March 2, 2021

The Integrative Center for Learning and Memory Distinguished Lecture

ERIC KLANN, Ph.D. (Hosted by Alcino Silva; silvaa@mednet.ucla.edu)
Departments of Neuroscience, Molecular Physiology & Biophysics, New York University

“Title to be Determined”

   

March 9, 2021

The Brain Research Institute 31st Annual H.W. Magoun Lecture

Speaker to be Announced (Hosted by TBD)

“Title to be Determined”

 

March 30, 2021

DANIEL SALZMAN, M.D., Ph.D. (Hosted by Michele Basso; mbasso@mednet.ucla.edu)
Departments of Psychiatry, Neuroscience, Columbia University

“Title to be Determined”

 

April 6, 2021

Sawyer Distinguished Lecture

Speaker to be Announced (Hosted by TBD)

“Title to be Determined”

 

April 13, 2021

LILA DAVACHI, Ph.D. (Hosted by Barbara Knowlton; knowlton@psych.ucla.edu)
Department of Psychology, Columbia University

“Title to be Determined”

 

April 27, 2021

ELSA ROSSIGNOL, M.D. , FRCPC , M.Sc. (Hosted by Peyman Golshani pgolshani@mednet.ucla.edu)
Department of Neuroscience, Universite de Montreal

“Title to be Determined”

 

May 4, 2021

The Annual Brain Research Institute and Molecular Biology Institute Joint Lecture

LIQUN LUO, Ph.D. (Hosted by Weizhe Hong and Akin Orkun; whong@ucla.edu)
Department of Biology, Stanford University

“Molecular Mechanisms of Neural Circuit Assembly”

 

May 11, 2021

MARISELA MORALES, Ph.D. (Hosted by Catherine Cahill; cmcahill@ucla.edu)
National Institute On Drug Abuse Intramural Reseach Program

“Title to be Determined”

 

May 18, 2021

The Brain Research Institute 28th Annual Samuel Eiduson Student Lecture

Speaker to be Announced (Hosted by Felix Schweizer; felixs@ucla.edu)

“Title to be Determined”

 

May 25, 2021

SCOTT BARABAN, Ph.D. (Hosted by Peyman Golshani; pgolshani@mednet.ucla.edu)
Department of Neurological, University of California San Francisco

“Title to be Determined”

 

June 1, 2021

New Brain Research Institute Member Short Talks

Speaker to be Announced (Hosted by Felix Schweizer; felixs@ucla.edu)

“Title to be Determined”